An introduction

Welcome to my humanist blog!

I have been very much inspired to create this by reading the Friendly Humanist’s blog and also by the weird and wonderful discussions at Edinburgh University Humanist Society meetings. This is where I plan to discuss ethical issues, my life as a humanist and also thoughts about the Humanist movement itself. I hope that some will find it interesting and maybe thought provoking. Just to clarify, I am an atheist and a Secular Humanist and that is what I refer to when I use the words ‘Humanist’ and ‘Humanism’.

Please feel free to submit comments and ask questions!

6 Responses to “An introduction”


  1. 1 AskWhy Books November 19, 2007 at 11:07 pm

    Welcome, This humanist! There’s nothing I can see to comment on yet, so let’s ask some clarifying questions. Is humanism a world view and does it have varieties? Is, for example, Adelphiasophism humanist? We consider it is, and that it is a legitimate atheistic world view, but some, not just Christians, have jeered at it? How does a neutral humanist regard it, in the light of the answers to the questions above. we hope it helps to get the discussion going on this new site.

  2. 2 Clare November 22, 2007 at 10:54 pm

    Thanks for reading my blog and taking an interest! Now to try and answer your questions…

    a) I think I can say that for me humanism is a world view or approach to living, and I imagine it has as many varieties as it does people who adopt this way of thinking about their lives. We are all different and I very much doubt you could get all of us to agree on everything in life.

    b) I must confess that I’d never come across Adelphiasophism before, but from what I could find on the intermet it seems to be a belief system where Nature is regarded as a Goddess, or at least the emphasis lies on the significance of the natural world and human responsibilty towards it.

    I think whether Adelphiasophism can be reagrded as a humanist outlook depends on whether those people who are adelphiasophists identify as humanist. There are already many types of religious humanism, and many different groups of atheists and agnostics creating communities and identities for ethical and philosophical discussion. Humanism is a broad term used in so many ways by so many disciplines and fields. I think it’s a discussion for Adelphiasophists whether Nature as a Goddess is a metaphor or a spiritual belief. I certainly wouldn’t presume to impose a definition upon them. One thing I would recommend is to discuss this within the Adelphiasophist community and for people to make their ideas and explanations about Adelphiasophism available online. Maybe creating an entry on Wikipedia would be a good way to start the discussion.

    Good luck!

  3. 3 Tim Mills November 25, 2007 at 2:22 am

    Congratulations on the new blog! Can’t wait to see how it develops.

    I love the title of the blog, by the way.

  4. 4 Roger Redondo November 28, 2007 at 9:21 am

    Yeah! Congratulations on the Blog!
    A pleasure to read.
    The student groups should link to your blog. What do you think?
    Cheers,
    Roger

  5. 5 Roger Redondo November 28, 2007 at 9:22 am

    i meant the student group’s website.

  6. 6 Tim Maguire December 3, 2007 at 5:11 pm

    Hi

    i stumbled upon your blog through TIm Mills – i hope you keep posting.

    and do check out the new HSS site – we link to the Edinburgh University Humanist group now and are keen to see more of you at our meetings

    Slainte

    tim
    convenor Edinburgh Group


Leave a Reply

