International Women’s Day 2009

International Women’s Day is a day to celebrate the achievements of women, be they political, economic or social. It’s also a good opportunity to remind people of the continued struggle for equal rights and an end to discrimination and violence. I thought I might take the opportunity to mention a few atheist women who nourish my creativity and thoughts.

Ani DiFranco – Fantastic singer-songwriter and activist. Her music is highly accomplished and her lyrics are heartfelt and intelligent.

Björk Guðmundsdóttir – I love her music and her voice. I also love her bold creativity.

Natalie Angier – Prize-winning science journalist and feminist. Her book ‘Woman. An Intimate Geography’ is fascinating and enlightening.

Erika Moen – Her autobiographical comics have spunk, honesty and humour.

So which atheist women would you like to celebrate today?

1 Response to “International Women’s Day 2009”


  1. 1 Timothy Mills March 8, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    Don’t want to sound sappy, but numbers 1 and 2 on my list are Deena and Kaia (in no particular order) – my wife and daughter.

    Also high on the list of women I’d honour today is Alice Turk, my PhD supervisor and one of my best role models for sceptical, scientific thinking – though I don’t know if she’s an atheist.

    Gotta love Julia Sweeney for fully human humanism and humour. And I really dig Rebecca Watson over at Skepchick (though I mainly know her as one of the voices on the Skeptic’s Guide to the Universe podcast).


Leave a Reply

